Blueberry Marshmallows

10592398_814299618602255_1315150420_n

I have a friend whose family owns a local blueberry farm. Because blueberry season is so short I threw caution to the wind and was like, “What the hell! Why not order 10 pounds of blueberries?” So I did. Do you know how many blueberries are in 10 pounds? A LOT. So here I am trying to figure out what am I going to do with all these very perishable, exceptionally delicious, and insane amount of blueberries. First, I made blueberry yogurt. That only used up half a pound. Besides having a giant bowl of blueberries with every meal and snack I still have find uses for the berries. Obviously marshmallows were one of the first goodies to make on my list.

Making marshmallows has become second nature to me. They are quick to make and, to be honest, you can charge a lot more for them because the price of the ingredients can be pretty cheap. However, using fresh local blueberries and Lye’s Golden Syrup instead of corn syrup really make these a luxury treat. That’s OK. I ground up freeze dried blueberries to coat them. Because blueberries. These are some of the most tender mallows I’ve ever made. They practically pop in your mouth like a real berry would. With the right marketing I could sell them as a healthy sweet treat- mostly because people will create excuses to eat bad things. Shut up and take my money.

Blueberry waffles for breakfast. Blueberry Jam. Blueberry Smoothies. Blueberry ice cream. Not even Iron Chef would know what to do with this many blueberries.

Leave a Reply

