Very Vanilla Valentine

I honestly don’t care about what people think about Valentines day anymore. You have your beliefs and that’s awesome! Regardless of your stance on V-day, everyone seems to agree that it is the one day of year you can eat as many sweets as you want guilt free. Lonely: stuff your face. In a relationship (what the hell does that mean these days?!): stuff your face. Anywhere in between: stuff your face. We’ve got so many sugary choices these days: chocolates (in any form, shape, or size), cupcakes, mini-cupcakes, cake balls, a million type of fancy-smancy candies and marshmallows. Donuts have not made it on the list yet. We should change that.

I was pretty busy at work making people’s last minute sugar platitudes. Who wants to actually place an order? No one. People seem to think that this day doesn’t actually mean anything to anyone until the last moment and change their minds. I was ahead of the game though, you see? I sent my delicacies before the holiday rush. Although, weather conditions might have delayed the arrival of a few… cupid and Chicago airports were snowed in (again).

IMG_2046

I can’t ship anything uber parishable via snail mail to all of my friends and family. I had been looking for an excuse to make an unreasonable amount of marshmallows for awhile and they fit the bill. They’re light (although bulky), have a very long shelf life, and I could flavor them anyway I wanted. I went the safe route and made vanilla marshmallows. I wanted them to be out of this world vanilla so I used 6 vanilla bean innards to flavor the marshmallow and the pods in the boiling sugar elixir. To cover all my bases I also added a dab of some good vanilla extract. I also added some pink food coloring. For some reason pink and red are the colors of the season, so what the hell, why not? I took the photos with some bricks of chocolate. They have another fate. The photos don’t really have a realistic size perspective. The mallows were about 2″ high and 1 1/2″ wide.

IMG_2038

Leave a Reply

