“Gender” Reveal Cakes

Gender reveal cakes irk me to no end. Gender is not biological sex. To quote the World Health Organization “ “Gender” refers to the socially constructed roles, behaviours, activities, and attributes that a given society considers appropriate for men and women.” (emphasis mine)

My stomach ties in knots and my jaw clenches when I see people cutting into adorable cakes or taking bites out of perfect cupcakes only to find they have blue or pink tinted innards.  I know you mean well and good and are just excited at the prospects of having a child, but genderism is a systemic problem.

Every time I see the pastel colors announcing what you hope your child will be I wish I could fill it with a rainbow cake. Or core the cupcakes and fill them with candy. Because people are miraculous surprises! The insides might not always match the outside. I wish I could somehow make the cake taste like the confusion, fear, and sadness of a child pushed down the wrong colored toy isles.

Don’t ask me to do a gender reveal cake unless you want a surprise, because that’s what you’ll get. I don’t want to be part of a culture that tells a potential person who they should be before they even get here.

All this being said if it’s just a cake or cookies I can’t say no when someone wants pink or blue icing. I try to give options but I can’t win every battle.

Leave a Reply

